Fortune Global & Shipping Logistics Limited, Seplat Petroleum Development Company Plc, United Capital Plc, Dantata Food & Allied Products Limited (DFAP), NPF Microfinance Bank Plc, CAP Plc, and others were amongst the winners of the Nigerian Investor Value Awards (NIVA Awards) organised by BusinessDay Media Limited, and the Nigerian Stock Exchange (NSE) on Saturday, 24 April 2021 at Lagos Continental Hotel, Victoria Island, Lagos.

L-R: Ibukun Oyedeji, president, CFA Society Nigeria; Temi Popoola, CEO, Nigerian Exchange Limited; UK Eke, GMD, FBN Holding plc; Haruna Jalo-Waziri, MD/CEO, Central Securities Clearing System plc; Tajudeen Aminu Dantata, chairman/CEO, Dantata Foods and Allied Products Limited; Frank Aigbogun, publisher, Busi-nessDay Media Limited; Eric Opah, CEO, Fortune Global Shipping and Logistic Limited; Muhammed Garuba, commissioner for information, Kano State, and Olajumoke Simplice, president/chairman of council, Chartered Institute of Taxation of Nigeria (CITN), during the BusinessDay Nigerian Investor Value Awards (NIVA) 2021 in conjunction with Nigerian Exchange Limited in Lagos, at the weekend. Pic by Olawale Amoo

Recieving the award, the Founder and CEO of Fortune Global Shipping, Chief Eric Opah said the award and recognition represents a demonstration of their market and leadership position in the Nigerian logistics industry.

Chief Opah, who informed that the company, which, according to him started 15 years ago as a small brokerage business, is a wholely owned Nigeria company.

“Today, we have grown focusing in the supply chain management solutions, Freight forwarding, logistics and marine support services operating in three countries Nigeria, Kenya and Houston texas,” he said

The Abia born Chief Executive Officer thanked the organisers for their efforts in making this process a reality. He dedicated the award to their Team, whom he said “worked so hard over the years to make the company successful,” promising to continue making Nigeria proud everywhere the company operate, and prayed God to intervene on the security challenges bedevilling the country.

Earlier in his welcome address on the theme of the event ‘Bullish on a Recovery’, Publisher, BusinessDay, Frank Aigbogun said a lot of opportunities have presented themselves which raised the hopes on the outlook for the stock market.

In his words, “When COVID-19 hit Nigeria, many had thought that it signalled the end of times. But here we are, still standing.”

According to him, “There is no denying that it was a tough year. At the same time, what stood out was the resilience and improvisation capacity of Nigerian companies,”

Also speaking in his opening remarks earlier, the newly appointed Chief Executive Officer, Nigerian Exchange Limited, Temi Popoola said the awards, a collaboration between the Exchange and BusinessDay, have in the past seven years “seen exceptional leaders gain much-deserved recognition in their contribution to economic growth in Nigeria”.

“These prestigious awards are testimonials of the quality of leadership in Nigeria,” Popoola added.

Abia Online reports that the NIVA, which replaces the annual Top 25 CEOs & Next Bulls Awards saw CEOs of public and private companies celebrated and honoured for their respective performances in creating sustainable alpha-generating value through strategic intelligence, operating efficiencies, market leadership and organisational values.

Other award winners were, United Capital, First Bank Nigeria Holdings Plc, Neimeth International Pharmaceuticals Plc, May & Baker Nigeria Plc, NEM Insurance Plc, Honeywell Flour Mills Plc, Eunisell Limited, Dantata Food & Allied Products Limited, Revolution Plus Property, Ultimus Holdings, Zylus Group International, Xpress Payment Solutions Limited, GVE Projects Ltd, SpringRock Group and TGI Distri Limited.

Also, a Special Judges Award was bestowed on distinguished business leaders: Haruna Jalo-Waziri, managing director/CEO, Central Securities Clearing Systems Plc, got the award for the Markets Choice of the Year; Tajuddeen Aminu Dantata, chairman/CEO, Dantata Foods and Allied Products Limited (DFAP), won the Industrialist of the Year; and Ichechi Chinarhu Okonkwo, CEO, Victoria Crest Homes Limited, won Boldness in Business.

Oba Alayeluwa Saheed Ademola Elegushi, Kusenla III, Dame Gladys Olajumoke Simplice, president & Chairman of Council, the Chartered Institute of Taxation of Nigeria (CITN), Ibukunoluwa Oyedeji, president of CFA Society Nigeria, and other distinguished and notable personalities of the business community attended the event.

Post View : 281